Return to Headlines

Boys Track Team Crowned Sectional Champions

The Irvington High School boys indoor track team won its first Sectional Class C championship title since 1989 in a complete team effort on Feb. 10. With a squad of 35 athletes who had qualified for the meet, the Bulldogs had multiple scorers to finish with a total of 140 points, almost double that of runner-up Pawling High School.

Students earned medals for top three finishes, as well as fourth-, fifth- or sixth-place finishes. Head coach Scott Mosenthal and assistant coaches Jim Buckley and Chris Barry said they were proud of the team’s effort.

Congratulations to the following students:

• First place finishers Nick Papapanou in triple jump, Ryan Flanagan in the 3,200-meter race, as well as Henry Demarest, Ryan Flanagan, Alex Bjorgvinsson and Aidan McClure in the 4x800 relay.
• Second place finishers Ryan Flanagan in the 1,600-meter race, Ryan Carron in pole vault, Henry Demarest in the 1,000-meter race, Alex Bjorgvinsson in the 3,200-meter race, Jaleel Moody in the 55-meter high hurdles, as well as Paul Biaggi, Nick Papapanou, Jaleel Moody and Mo Ahmed in the 4x200 relay.
• Third place finishers Mo Ahmed in triple jump, Mickey Sivere in pole vault, Aidan McClure in the 600-meter race, Brett Clinton in the 3,200-meter race.
• Fourth place finishers Will Herte in weight throw, Alex Yurzcak in the 55-meter high hurdles, Isaac Turano in pole vault, as well as Jake Ourman, Chris Meng-Killeen, Nick Levin and Aidan McClure in the 4x400 relay.
• Fifth place finishers Nick Papapanou in long jump, Junnan Shimizu in triple jump, and Alex Yurzcak in pole vault.
• Sixth place finishers Lucas Turano in high jump and Leo Mermelstein in pole vault.